black pots

Posted on

“Is there any kind of gardening you do that doesn’t involve black pots?”

Well, apparently not. I was pricing grow boxes which are beautiful and perfect for this location, but the budget said use what’s there already…which are “black pots”.  I’ll move them out if my ship comes into some beautiful cedar garden boxes.

So, I spent the day monitoring the sun. The location where I used to try to grow things gets a whopping 2 hours a day. The only place close to the house that gets close to eight hours in sections of it is a miserable 27’x13′ patch between the house, shed, porch and fence.
That should be perfect, but the water softener, A/C unit, wall a/c and hose reel live there too.

That’s the project. Here’s the beginning.

IMG_0060 IMG_0051 IMG_0049 IMG_0053 IMG_0054 IMG_0055 IMG_0056

 

 

4 thoughts on “black pots

    keeleycook said:
    September 16, 2014 at 8:25 pm

    Do you re use pots or did you just buy black pots!

    Like

      Andrea S responded:
      September 17, 2014 at 6:18 pm

      Hi,
      I reused the smaller pots that are relatively strong and clean. I found the good quality large black pots at a sod and stone supply place. They were strong and so much cheaper than the clay ones, not to mention not as heavy. I liked the fact they all matched each other and had nice little grippy handles.

      Like

    Nana said:
    September 19, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    Don’t put pots too close to your walls. Mold may grow. At least 3″ away from any wall for air circulation, pots also about 2″ apart.
    From your Mum

    Like

      Andi S responded:
      September 21, 2014 at 5:51 pm

      Ok Anu,
      I moved them away from the house and a little apart. Keep the advice coming, I need all the help I can get.

      Like

Leave a comment