kohlrabi ready for stuffing

Posted on Updated on

Finally the kohlrabi is big enough to harvest and my Mum is here to share her cooking experience and family recipe with me. She was so thrilled to see me bringing her fresh roots right from the garden and set to trimming the leaves immediately, flinging bug eaten or withered parts right into the compost. After the quick hosing off and trimming we brought them into the kitchen and finished the preparation. She relished peeling the tender green little kohlrabi’s tossing the puppies slivers as treats. We had just enough for one layer of  the little hollowed out rounds stuffed with meat and rice to make the perfect pot of stuffed kohlrabi, or Töltött karalábé   It was a wonderful day ending with warm fresh bread right from the oven and a deliciously beautiful bowl of my favourite traditional childhood food.

IMG_8119

IMG_8247

IMG_8250

IMG_8340

IMG_8359_2

IMG_8360_2

IMG_8353_2

IMG_8355

IMG_8362

IMG_8363_2

IMG_8371_2

IMG_8375

 

 

Here’s how we made it:  Recipe.  I hope you try it and like it too.

7 thoughts on “kohlrabi ready for stuffing

    Dan said:
    January 15, 2015 at 12:59 am

    This is awesome! I love kohlrabi and grow it every year, but have never seen a recipe like this. Thank you!

    Like

      Andi S responded:
      January 15, 2015 at 1:57 am

      Hi Dan, I hope you have better luck growing than I do. I struggle to get the few that I do. I look forward to the cold season here in Florida just for this dish. Thanks for taking the time to comment. I’ll post an easier but just as tasty recipe for you to try to see if you like the taste with much less work.

      Like

        Dan said:
        January 15, 2015 at 2:11 am

        Andi, I usually have the best luck buying seedlings from the local nursery as opposed to starting from seed. I know they like cool, and there’s probably not quite as much of that I Florida as we have in Michigan.

        But that recipe just sounds like almost perfect food!

        Like

        Andi S responded:
        January 15, 2015 at 2:29 am

        I have four varieties of seed, my Mum brought me back the purple kind from Hungary, they call it the winter variety. “Kek ” It’s the one that tasted the best this year.
        Many years ago we broadcast seeds, thinned, then transplanted the seedlings. My Mum showed me that they are different, male/female. The female ones form the round bulb, the male grow straight up, I had no idea but it seems true, I hate brutal thinning but I force myself for delicious kohlrabi!

        Like

        Dan said:
        January 15, 2015 at 3:07 am

        I had no idea, now that you say it, it makes perfect sense! Thats what those bulbless olans are. Tell your Mum thanks from me!

        Like

        Andi S responded:
        January 15, 2015 at 3:31 am

        Thanks I will, please let me know if you try this recipe. It’s my fav. I like it so much more than stuffed cabbage, but you need the fresh tender roots like YOU grow.

        Like

        Dan said:
        January 15, 2015 at 3:35 am

        Will do Andi. It’ll be a few months though. Too much snow 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment